Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

I Found Them -- Aerosoles!

I know this is quite a switch from yesterday's scenic blip, but today's a new day, right!

These are my new shoes (as if you hadn't realized that). Four, five, or maybe six years ago I bought a pair just like this--black and another pair beige. They are the most comfortable "dress-up casual" shoes. So a year later I went back to Mervyn's and purchased another pair of each color just for back-up. So when the first pairs wore-out, I'd still have my favorite shoes (and even brand new).

Couple years ago I went looking again to purchase a back-up pair because the ones I had been wearing were approaching worn-out and the back-up pair was going to become the every day pair. I don't really wear them every day (just on dressy days (I like to dress-up on Sundays, and if I have important meetings at the campus, or every now and then to go to a wedding)). Anyway, I could no longer find these shoes in the stores, not even on the Aerosole website.

Then when Mervyn's went out of business last year I knew my chances of ever finding them again was zilch.

Last Friday when my meeting concluded at the Riverside campus, I drove over to the Plaza before leaving Riverside and stopped at Gottchalks. Two days before that they made the announcement that they are going out of business . . . erugh!

I tend to buy fashion jewelry, cologne, and Hawaiian shirts for Mr. Fun at Gottchalks. So I browsed through the Men's Dept. and then strolled through the shoes sort of looking for sandals and that's when I spotted the Aerosole heels.

I went right to the clerk and said, "If you've got them in my size, I want those shoes." She checked the stock room and she not only had one pair in my size, she had two pairs. They were 20% off because of the going out-of-business sale. So you guessed it, I bought two pairs, so now I am stocked-up. Woohoo!

I know they are just a plain black pair of shoes. They are, however, so wonderfully comfortable.

Good night from warm, sunny, clear Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Thank you to all who noted and mentioned the passing of our friend Larry. It is difficult to comprehend his death. It was just a moment ago that we were all teeny-boppers listening to the Beach Boys, the Mamas and Papas, and the Beatles and experimenting and experiencing all that pop culture had to offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.