Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I’m finding it VERY hard to waken up at a reasonable hour, I’m in full-on doze mode, half listening to Radio 4. But really - there’s no rush. Not going anywhere. It’s definitely one of Archie’s best qualities - he’s not an early riser, and can doze on as required.

It was such a sunny, still day, that a new walk was on the cards. We’ve been intending to do it for quite some time - walk along to Queen’s Park, and walk right round it, past the two big ponds. Well, there was no way I was going to walk all the way round (though we e-biked it in the summer), but I did get to the Park (and insisted on a photo as proof). I then left Archie and JR and they walked on right round. They didn’t see the otter at Dunsapie Loch. (Extra)

I started to walk back, but then noticed the bus was about to arrive, so I hopped on. Still did 6,190 steps. Mind you, the others did over 17,000! My left knee has developed a different pain - more like I’ve sprained it. Which I haven’t.

I had a relaxing afternoon, and watched yesterday’s programme on ‘Creating a Modern Scotland’ old footage from the 70s. Gosh, it was quite depressing, what with unemployment, poverty, strikes, power cuts, and 1 in 4 houses still with an outside toilet, while building new soulless towns to rehouse the residents of the condemned Glasgow tenements.  What a good idea my wee pal and I had in the pub as soon as we were teachers (early 70s) - to get out and go to New Zealand! Where I soon had enough money to buy my first SLR camera, which would have been impossible had I stayed.

Over 1,000 deaths today, for the first time since the first April!

Photos by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.