bananablip

By bananablip

WFH

I'll admit that I was late to my desk this morning, even though it is just a few metres away. My first excuse, in case you needed to hear it, was that I was caught up in twitter scrolling after last night's unbelievable events at Capitol Hill. Secondly, my bed was very warm and cosy and outside of my bed was decidedly less so. 

In hindsight I should have got out of my bed when I woke because it was stunningly beautiful outside. Less so by the time Grace and I were on our lunchtime walk. I couldn't be bothered taking my camera today as we were both rushing back for meetings, so this shot from the garden is my best attempt at capturing the frost. 

Interestingly, mid-twitter scroll, this morning I found this Guardian Article about the joy of lockdown walks with a camera. It resonated with me. I think long walks with the camera are going to be so essential for this lockdown. 

There are so many reasons to be shocked and appalled at what happened last night but one thing that was glaringly obvious is the shocking disparity between how black protesters and white protestors are treated. I loved this tweet from last night: "Why y’all keep asking where the police at? Y’all ask where Miley’s at when Hannah’s on stage?" The way the police handled the protests last night surely show us something deeply flawed about the system. If not outright collusion, it shows deep-seated bias and institutional racism.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.