As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Geslani Standard Time

Written at 8:45 p.m.

We (me, Ryan, Kyle, Parker, Jon, and Brian) met in the parking lot of the firehouse at 3:45 in the morning. After saying our last goodbyes, we laded up the van and headed to LaGuardia airport. My dad and Kyle's dad are the adults with us on our trip. We got to the airport around 4:45 and checked our bags. We got through security relatively quickly, so we had an hour to wait at the gate for our flight. I slept for pretty much the whole flight (6:30 EST to 8:00 CST), listening to Ants Marching by Dave Matthews Band. When we touched down in Minneapolis, the air temperature was 2 degrees Fahrenheit. There was a piano near the luggage claim that we fooled around on as we waited for the van to drive us to Ely. We stopped about an hour south of Ely for lunch at McDonalds. An hour later, we arrived in Ely. There were a bunch of ice sculptures in a park just off the main road, so we walked around and looked at them as we tried to adjust to the cold. We had some Dairy Queen before walking to a geocache under the sign at the Ely Visitor Center. The International Wolf Center was only a mile away, so we drove there and took a tour. I took a bunch of awesome pictures of the wolves that the Center had, but I think this one is my favorite. We left the Wolf Center and drove for half an hour to Northern Tier. We checked in and ate dinner with our interpreters, Colin and Drew. After a brief instructional video, we pulled our stuff up a hill to the cabins. We just got some stuff from the Bay Post, and now I'm in the cabin writing this very entry. I hope I can get some sleep tonight; I've got a big day ahead of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.