As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Hike-Hike!

Written at 9:30 p.m.

The stars last night looked amazing. I ended up coming inside, though, as I figured freezing to death would put a damper on the rest of my trip.

We started off the morning by feeding the dogs at 7:00. Once that was done, Drew had cooked up breakfast for us. I had some oatmeal and a bunch of granola bars. We got ready for our morning ride; setting up the sleds, harnessing the dogs, and then attaching them to the gang line. Dewey took Chalupa's place on our sled. We rode out towards Flash Lake, eventually taking the Swamp Trail. Halfway through the run, Taco, who was on Sled One, began to limp, so Colin unharnessed her and put her in the sled bag with drew for the rest of the ride. The weather was absolutely perfect and we had a nice long run. We had some lunch when we got back, and then we harnessed the dogs again. We split into two groups; the first going on a 13 mile run to Canada and back, the second (my group) cross-country skiing to Flash Lake to go ice fishing. As soon as the first group headed out, we went down to the Bay Post with Risa to get our skis and such. I wore the harness and pulled the pulk behind me. The pulk was the sled that we put the auger, fishing rods, and a bunch of our stuff on. After about half an hour of skiing, we arrived at the "perfect spot" to drill our holes. The ice was about three feet thick, so drilling these holes was no easy task. We drilled five or six holes before deciding to settle down and just fish for a bit. It was super warm out (almost 20 degrees) and there was no wind, so we shed layers rapidly. We didn't catch anything, but it was still really cool trying ice fishing. We headed back rather quickly and got back just as the Canada group finished putting the dogs back. We shoveled dog poop for a bit before dinner (spicy pasta) with the interpreters. Ryan wanted to shower, so I walked with him to the bathroom and read Madame Bovary while I waited for him to finish. Parker and I have the cabin to ourselves for the night as everyone else decided to spend another night out in the cold.

This might be my 900th blip?

I also might change some of these pictures in the future, depending on how the pictures that my dad and Mr. R took came out. If there's a nice group picture, I might put it in place of the picture that is currently on that day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.