Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Academy Awards

Together, the two of us, thoroughly enjoyed watching the Academy Awards tonight. I definitely like seeing the fashions -- the glitz and the glam -- but more than anything, I love to see the people who sometime in their past never believed they could be receiving an Oscar. The back story behind so many of these people -- actors, directors, screen writers, writers, song writers -- is interesting.

After a full day yesterday of sorting through paperwork, I think I am just about ready to meet with our CPA for the annual tax number crunching moment.

And today was so exciting because I gained $50,000.00. Really! Well, sort of really. We went to a Real Estate open house in our neighborhood. A house just like ours is for sale. We always try to stop in to see what other houses in our neighborhood look like inside and always curious to see what price is being asked. This past August we had our home appraised because we wanted to refinance at lower interest rates. I worked very hard to get this place ready and knew that the price tag needed to come in as high as possible. We pulled it off and apprised for the amount we were hoping for. The house we walked through today is not being lived in, it's got new paint and new carpet, but some rooms were still showing serious wear. It doesn't have the view our home has. It is bank owned. It also has a price tag of $50,000.00 more than what ours appraised for. We were surprised. I explained that to the realtor who was showing the house and he just acted like I was crazy and said prices are climbing. I am thrilled. Maybe housing prices are going back up. We'll see.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.