Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Sunset at the Campus

Late this afternoon I was at the campus to make photocopies and finish my prep for tomorrow's classes. The photocopy machine was broken and instructions had been taped to it to use the machine across campus in the IT building. I knew my key would not open the doors there, but I was hoping someone would be inside to open a door, and thankfully another English faculty was inside and did let me in.

After that somewhat frustrating event, I walked back across the campus to head to my car and just as I arrived at the parking lot I looked toward the west. When I saw the orange glow, I put my box of photocopies on the ground, reached into my pocket for my camera, and just took my time enjoying this momentary splash of color.

The parking lot was full and the 6 o'clock students were driving in for evening classes and no one was giving the horizon any attention. That's okay, I did. It was a wonderful moment of "pause."

This morning was our appointment with the "taxman." We spent about a half-hour with him and he said he'd have the result for us in about a week. So we're on "hold" as to whether or not we owe Uncle Sam or we get some of our money back. I'm just glad it is over. Whew!

Now it's late. I've got to get to bed so I can teach tomorrow.
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.