LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Fungi

No idea what they are but they looked rather attractive I thought. Spotted them whilst having an afternoon stroll through the small woods near my Mum's house, which I thought might offer up some photo opportunities after the snowfall overnight.

Woke up with a bit of a raging hangover after a late night on Friday with rather more drinking than necessary (my first two pints being over 7% alcohol) so a trip to the supermarket for breakfast supplies was in order. A nice full English later we were all pretty much laid out (Jen even required the assistance of a proper bed to help with digesting her food) for the afternoon.

Plan for the evening was to have a bit of a rib feast with Becky's massive bag of JD Glaze she brought from work (I believe it is supplied to TGI Fridays by her employer 3663) so she had been to Costco to get 4 racks and we slow roasted them for 4 hours at gas mark 2 along with some pork chops. Side orders came form the local Chinese delivery and the whole family sat down to an enormous sticky fingered feast.

As I had been given one of the non-electric toss it around ice cream makers featured on Stephen Fry's 'Gadget Man' program I spent half an hour with an 8 year old rolling it back and forth to eventually produce mint choc chip ice cream, though it appeared only the 3 children were allowed to eat this (their decision not ours!). Turns out I did it all a bit wrong as I forgot he instructions but it was tasty nonetheless, if not quite frozen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.