Battenburg

I am a great fan of a good battenburg cake (Chester’s by the river in the Lakes do a superb one!) and it is a cake I’ve never made before. So I decided to make one today. Discovered that I had no raspberry jam to sandwich it with (used apricot instead) and that I didn’t quite have enough marzipan to cover it in (the rest had stuffed dates over Christmas!). However it tastes lovely, and I’m sure it won’t last long.

Yesterday when I sorted the freezer I found a few different meats that were all either old, undentified or freezer burnt so I pressure cookered them all together and roughly mashed them as a treat for Reggie. I think you can say he enjoyed he tea more than ever today.

I’ve also done Mr H’s tax return today (I did mine between Christmas and  New Year) so all is good apart from the DPD parcel I paid for next day delivery wasn’t collected. A little frustrating but understand  that all courier services are being stretched to the limit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.