School yard

This very old railing stands over what used to be a School yard caught my eye with all its layers and colours.

When I was 10 or 11 I would have been down there kicking  a football at playtime

A new school extension was built that eventually expanded to take the whole school and these buildings were unused for years.  Guess what?  Yes they have been converted into dwellings and very nice they look too.

In that unused period these buildings did become a TV star for one series of the BBC drama The Village. Quite memorably I met the location manager on the day he was  wanting to investigate the old school to play the role in their pre World War One section of the story. They had arrived at the modern school and confused asked me for directions. He told me about the series they were making when I said I was at that School and of course I pointed them in the right direction to find it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.