Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The weather forcast didn’t look too good for today, but they were wrong - dry, sunny and perishing cold! But NO icy pavements. Perfect. Elizabeth came to get Archie, for his favourite day out.

I did my exercise bike - that’s every day this week I’ve done it! I MUST keep this up, but I also need to do some arm exercises to strengthen my upper body. 

Once Archie had gone, I was wrapped up in my really warm ear covering bonnet even before JR could suggest a walk. 

Every time we wander round town, we see some wee thing we haven’t seen before. Maybe a wee plaque on a house to say that Robert Burns met Walter Scott here, or the Flodden Wall, which encircled the city and kept Edinburgh residents safe from any invading English armies.

Here’s a few we spotted today: James Braidwood statue, Heave Awa Hoose, The Palace Cinema, all on the Royal Mile, and all new to us. I’ve included links to the information, if you feel so inclined.

We had a coffee at my favourite, Kauai, sitting at the bus stop, which fuelled my exertions. We took a different route for a change and came back round by the Gardens. As I got nearer, I checked my Bus App, and could see that a bus was due in TWO minutes. I knew I couldn’t make it, but JR rushed on ahead, and stalled the driver, and as I came staggering round the corner, he didn’t look too cheery. Don’t know why - he needed a few passengers. And anyway, he stopped several times after that because he was ahead of schedule. Bus drivers are usually quite cheerful. 

JR then walked home really fast (10,552 steps) I called in at the shop to get a nice sourdough loaf to have with the soup tonight. Oh, and a bar of chocolate... (9,478 steps)

PS Having passed the same view as yesterday, I see that the roof of the renovation tent at the National Gallery is now off! Progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.