Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Patient Archie

Elizabeth changed her day this week, but when I told Archie that she was coming for him, so that he could be up at the window, I’d actually told him a whole hour too early. Poor lad - he remained glued to the window (not literally), turning round to me with a quizzical look every now and then, for me to say apologetically reassuringly, ‘Soon, Archie. Soon.’

Once he had gone off for his walk, I wanted to go and visit an electric bike shop to see some e-scooters. We walked through Quartermile and were lured in to the Malaysian restaurant for lunch. Our neighbours love it there. And we had a scrumptious lunch, though we ate rather too much. So much so that I could not manage the Sticky black rice and mochi with coconut milk dessert. Next time.

A quick browse on the interweb shows that there are many varieties of e-scooters with seats. They’re like an e-bike, but with no knee action required. Perfect. I’m thinking that we could maybe try more ‘cycling’ holidays again. We did one, based in Ballater, which was great. Except that I realised that I was just too unsteady on a bike. Not so much to do with two wheels, but because I had to have my seat up really high to enable pedalling with my sore knee, which meant that I couldn’t put my feet on the ground if I felt unsteady. Also, I never had a bike when I was growing up, and so have no innate ‘feel’ for cycling. I always stop and look on enviously when I see wee kids whizzing along confidently on two wheels.

The e-bike shop only had proper standy-uppy scooters, but we had a chat with the chaps, and indeed JR found a fellow Kiwi, who’s been stuck in the UK during the pandemic and hasn’t been able to get back to NZ. However, he agreed that moving from London to Edinburgh was a good move.

I then took the bus part way home. JR walked, and she was home before me. I was very very tired (6,755 steps) and sat down in the chair for a moment or two, but dozed off until Archie came bounding in an hour later.

Exciting day tomorrow - the first box of meals-to-make-at-home arrives!!

Photo by Elizabeth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.