brambleblossom

By brambleblossom

The blip is an emergency one as the blip I intended to post wasn’t satisfactory to the model . 

I know that many of you enjoy a good book so I thought I would share a collection of my recent additions  that might be of interest . 
 The non book is a piece of Sweden ( granite ) carried home by our middle child  after a holiday with our Swedish folks, with the wood too, in a suitcase and then placed on this little hand made stand . It will eventually make its way to his home !

The map and book in the middle are a Christmas gift from the friend I was out walking with today . I took a photo of her out on the muddy moors but it didn’t do her justice .  The Ordnance Survey puzzle Tour of Britain looks very appealing . I love maps so can’t wait to get started . 

The book to the right of the rock , Phillip Pullmans Book of Dust is what I plan to read next . I’ve enjoyed all his books to date and the films so look forward to this one . 

Nicholas Cranes book “The Making of the British Landscape” is what I’m reading at the moment . I hadn’t realised that the British Isles has been continuously occupied for 12000 years and that the landscape has been farmed for more than 7000 yrs with almost no corner left untouched . It’s fascinating and I’ve now got a long list of sites that I’m itching to visit . In some ways the Book is quite a nice follow on from Isabella Trees “Wilding “ The ecology of our land has been under sustained attack from climate change and human activity for 12 O00 + yrs . There’s a lot to consider . 

The brief history of capitalism is a book I came across as I was trying to get my head around why so many people voted for  Brexit when it was clearly going against their own interests. It’s an easy read but so full of ideas that you need a notebook .

The final book “Drawing with children,” was mentioned in a blip friends journal (thank you “Kendallishere “)
It claims to be a creative approach for  adult beginners too and is the first time I’ve come across a series of activities that really address what it is to be a complete beginner . I’m working through it and really enjoying myself . 
I hope some of you find something of interest, you  all contribute to the richness of my life in so many ways I wanted to offer a little back . 
Happy Saturday. !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.