Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

GH

I have no idea how to describe what this house is... in Swedish it's called a 'student nation', but I don't think that's the right word at all. There are a lot of these houses, in different sizes and shapes in Uppsala. This particular house is for students that have a connection to or are from the two provinces Gästrikland and Hälsingland. And, since my grandfather and my father were members in this house when they were students in Uppsala, so was I. My grandfather died long before I was born and some of you know that my father died for little over 25 years ago, so being able to walk in the same house that they've been in was a bit amazing. :)
I took this photo on my way to my meeting with the Red Cross, since it is on the same street and I was feeling a bit nostalgic seeing it. :)

The meeting then... It went really well! She was such a nice person to talk to and if I have the possibility to do practice there I think I'll have a great time! She said that I would fit really well in the group, but there are still some issues to work out if they can take me in. My work there would be very interesting and fun! I would help out with home work and English, I would also do some administrative work and help out with teaching a group on how to sew. I have a year of education in that area, which I think made my chances a bit stronger for getting practice there, since the person that taught sewing before got a new job. :)
I'll get an answer this week, since there's a meeting next Tuesday that I'm participating in, if I'm to work there.
Thanks so much to all of you that crossed your fingers for me! Can I ask you to do that a bit longer?
And, sorry if this blip is a bit confusing... I'm really, really tired after a full day today (not only the meeting and all that came with that - I had to return a library book about sewing and copied some instructions and patterns by hand before rushing of to the library and returning it only 5 minutes before closing time) and it feels like my English isn't the very best...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.