Beewriter

By Beewriter

Bingo!!

I went on the usual walk to Monton this morning. It was a good walk, plenty of people out but I didn’t see anyone I knew.

I did have a look for my halcyon bird at the dam, but to no avail. Then....after a text from Boxoffrogs I was told it had been spotted in Winton. Pat and I decided to have a little shufty down there. I didn’t even know there was a walkway along a brook there, so it was good to suss somewhere new out. We were just walking back when I spotted the kingfisher!!!! I shouted a whisper, “Pat! Pat! It’s the kingfisher!”. We were both struck dumb as we watched it watching us. It was just sitting there on the other side of the brook. As I moved closer it just sat and watched me. I took a pic on my phone which was ok, but if I’d had a camera I would have got the shot of the day. It’s time I went camera shopping.

When it flew along the water the blue feathers were incandescent, it was truly magical.

18000 steps today. An early night is needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.