Counting My Lockdown Birthday Blessings

I’m delighted to report that I’ve had a wonderful birthday this year, despite the ongoing global gloom.

M was able to be with me and gave me a picnic lunch (in the dining room), a cake, some lovely presents, a Thai meal delivered to the door in the evening, and a disco in the comfort of my own front room.

I also had a FaceTime chat with my mum in the morning, and a birthday Zoom with some dear friends in the evening, plus some thoughtful presents from friends and family.

It’s been the best possible birthday in the circumstances, and I’m not anything like as downcast as I appear to be in this picture, or the Extra!

Everything is extra precious at the moment, and I’m so grateful for all the love I’ve felt today.

Here are They Might Be Giants with ‘Older’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=TdIRrmNN_CQ

As always, I want to note that today is also, and much more importantly, Holocaust Memorial Day. A time to reflect on the appalling things human beings are capable of doing to each other. Something we still need to guard against and challenge, even as we celebrate all the amazing things we’re also capable of doing for each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.