Treecreeper

An overnight volunteer shift left me surprisingly shattered. The combination of emotionally fierce and lack of sleep is a potent one.

Realising little productive would get done I sorted a few emails and went for a wander with Missy. A thoroughly "meh" kind of day.... Until I bumped into someone I did some support walks with last year. Lovely to see them in a much better place.

This afternoon has been couch, reading, browsing, thinking.
I'm a big believer that we seldom have the answers to other people's problems, but we can use the three E's to help them find their own solutions. Empathise, Empower, Encourage.
Which led me to this that I was sent today:

Philosophy Friday
A soldier with PTSD fell into a hole and couldn’t get out. When an Officer walked by the Soldier called out for help, but the Officer yelled back, "Suck it up son, dig deep and keep going on," then threw him a shovel. The Soldier did as he was told and dug that hole deeper.

A General went by and the Soldier called out for help again. The General told him "use the tools your Officer has given you", then threw him a bucket. The Soldier used the tools and he dug the hole deeper still and filled the bucket.

A Psychiatrist walked by. The Soldier called, “Help! I can’t get out!” so the psychiatrist gave him some drugs and said, "Take this. It will relieve the pain and you will forget about the hole.” The Soldier said "thanks" and followed his advice, but when the pills ran out he was still in the hole.

A well-known Psychologist rode by and heard the Soldiers cries for help. He stopped and asked, “How did you get there? Were you born there? Did your parents put you there? Tell me about yourself, it will alleviate your sense of loneliness.” So the Soldier talked with him for an hour, then the psychologist had to leave, but he said he’d be back next week. The Soldier thanked him, but he was still in the hole.

Another Soldier , just like him, happened to be passing by. The Soldier with PTSD cried out, “Hey, help me. I’m stuck in this hole!” and right away the other Soldier jumped down in there with him. The Soldier with PTSD started to panic and said, “What are you doing? Now we’re both stuck down here!” But the other Soldier just smiled and replied, “ Yeah but now you're not alone and it's It’s okay brother, I’ve been here before..... I know its possible to get out of here.”

No matter what you're going through, you are never alone, never be afraid to shout for help if you find yourself in a hole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.