Old pennies (and a threepenny bit)

Fifty years ago today we left the old pennies behind and started decimalisation with New Pennies. I remember the event well, as I was in my first or second year of teaching and we had to bring the process into the school curriculum. I am sure I remember every day in the classroom listening to Jimmy Young and some jolly jingles which were supposed to help. I also remember that the Education Centre in Bradford set up a workshop and teachers could go along and make measuring equipment, for example metre sticks and trundle wheels - it was great fun. I wonder how accurate they were. 

Although obviously centimetres etc. are much easier to work with, I think many of us still have a better image of say 6 inches or 8 ounces than the metric equivalent. It is significant that I took the photo on my table which had the cutting mat on it, measuring in inches. The influence of the US on patchwork means that inches remain in that sphere. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.