"how glorious . . .

. . . is your name in all the world"

For Marc Chagull blue was the colour expressing spirituality. Appropriate then that, the moment you open the door and enter the church of All Saints, Tudeley, you are aware of an aura of bright blue emanating from the stained glass windows. 

On our way taking the two girls back home this morning we stopped off at Tudeley, near Tonbridge and explored this amazing place. It is the only church in the world to have all its windows designed by Chagull - twelve of them! It all came about in the 1960s when a local family wanted to commemorate the name of their daughter who at the age of 21 was killed in a sailing accident. They commissioned Chagull to design the main East window and apparently when he came to see it in place he thought it was magnificent and decided to do all the windows. 

We all wandered round in wonder at the sight of these beautiful windows. The one I have chosen to blip is one that really shows the intensity of the colour and represents the glories of the world.

It reminded me of when we were in Chichester and saw the window in the Cathedral that Brens sometimes blips and I was delighted to see for myself a few years ago. It also reminded me of when we went to the Carrières de Lumières at Les Baux in Provence. As I was searching for this blip, I came across one of Puffin's blips and I hope she won't mind me using it as it shows the main and first window with the drowning accident reference. She also there tells more about the windows. 

(The balloons arrived home safely, Mummy was very pleased!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.