Picnic

We ventured to Belton House today - the National Trust membership is about to come to an end so I thought we should get one last outing (we'll renew it, just not at the moment). There isn't very much open for the boys to play on and I was amazed that we could string out the play area for more than half an hour.  I'd taken a picnic and we had a lovely time sat on our picnic blanket in the boot, with an array of cushions the boys had decided to bring - and teddy bears (to join the picnic).  Tinned tomato soup and hot chocolate (and maybe a couple of chocolate hob-nobs to finish it all off). 

Home for an afternoon playing whilst I took the dog out for a lovely walk across some nearby fields.  

Today I'm grateful for: 
The lovely lady at Belton who let me in despite having failed to book a place for either boy (no charge, just a smile)
The simplicity of a picnic in the back of the car
Walk by myself - in the rain (but not cold), it was so lovely to be out

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.