Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Lunch with heroes

It feels fitting to have a war memorial in a place where people can connect with it, all these years later. Even if all you do is eat your lunch and check your WhatsApp, you are still in the company of brave people.

Strider and I looked at the lists of names yesterday. Particularly heartbreaking were the "Private Ryans" - three people with the same surname and presumably from the same family who died in combat (there were several examples of this). But that was the nightmare of those days; you enlisted together, fought together, and often died together.

I actually think many ordinary people are heroes in their way too. The act of going to work, bringing home the bacon, keeping families going in hard times. If Covid has taught us anything is that you can be in the company of heroes in the most ordinary and unlikely places.

I'm not heroic but I am very busy. So it was good to get out in the middle of the day for a walk in the sunshine. 

Beautiful weather again (relatively speaking). Cynics call it a fool's spring. Personally I'm just enjoying it; every day is a gift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.