Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

On yer bike

As we say in South London. 

My neighbour has a passion for things vintage, in this case a motorcycle. In the past she has been seen dressed, full skirts and bouffant hairstyle, in an open top American car from the 1950s. Brings a bit of style and glamour to the street.

We went for the pedal bike option and did a five mile circular ride up and down the Basingstoke  canal - that superhighway of the Victorian era before trains really got a grip on the business of moving big things quickly.  I haven’t ridden for a longtime - I couldn’t for ages due to my eyesight - so I ached a bit, but it was great fun in the full sun. 

Beautiful weather for late February. When we got back I spent an intense couple of hours sorting out the garden and found time for a beer with my boys sitting on the back porch as the sun went down. We then took the conversation inside, with another beer. After supper TSM and I played kalooki and did the crossword, by which time I was sleepy and full of lasagne made in the slow cooker. I kid you not, it does a beautiful job of making the pasta sheets soft and tasty. I may also have had a glass of wine, because such a perfect day demands to be finished in style.  

Everyone in our house was happy today. Mystic Em came home positively glowing from a day in the yard where she looks after (and gets to ride) the horses. It’s physically demanding but spiritually uplifting. Today she was so happy you’d have thought her horse had turned into a unicorn.

Only downer was TSM and I having to do a couple of hours work first thing on our day off. But sunshine, love and cycling - plus a beer and some wine - more than made amends ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.