Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Buller Gorge Marathon

Today was the big day for the girls. And indeed running the Buller Gorge Marathon was really the whole reason to do this trip. Alaric and I are just here for support for these amazing ladies!

The marathon is one of the most scenic in NZ. The road parallels the gorgeous Buller gorge for over 20km ending in the town of Westport. Gaya and Celine ran their first full, while Ellen ran her first half marathon. All had great times and did excellent. Alaric and I photographed and provided drinks along the way. It was beautiful day and full spectacle of people of all ages competing in variations of the event: full, half, walk, run, relay. I love that - anyone can compete!

I think my favorite competitor though was Jesus here. Not bad running a full marathon in Roman thongs and a toga!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.