analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Chest of Drawers in the Cape-Dutch style.

More accurately it's just the chest, since the drawers are yet a twinkle in my eye.  All the dark bits forming the frames and rails are of an almost-extinct wood called Imbuya which comes from the southern part of Brazil - or at least it used to...  My supply of this precious lumber was harvested from a virginal which I made in 1983.  The instrument was of no further value as a musical instrument, so it has found a new life paying homage to the corner of the world in South Africa where I grew up. The pale, straw-colored wood forming the panel on the left is supposed to be of a wood indigenous to South Africa called, appropriately enough, Yellow Wood.  I have a tiny amount of the real thing, so I decided to use Mediterranean Cypress, of which I have a plentiful supply.  Since the leaves of cypress wood were consecutively cut from the same log, I was able to join them to form a "bookmatch", symmetrical around the center line.  Aesthetically, the cypress is an excellent substitute for the precious Yellow Wood.
On the right-hand side of the chest will be attached a cupboard of the same height, both sharing a top repurposed from the viriginal's lid.
The big, fat base molding visible here was once the square tapered trestle legs.and stretchers.  The left wall of the cupboard will be what used to be the bottom boards of the instrument.  Everything will be recycled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.