The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

In Training

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

I had to do a Teams interactive group training session today on financial conduct. Yawnfest

“You all did the first part of this training online at the end of last year so this is really just to test your knowledge,” said trainer dude

Uh oh - we have to do loads of online mandatory training and I see it as a game...

“Allow an hour to complete this course” is a challenge to see if I can get the whole thing done in under 10. I press ‘next’ as quickly as possible on the slides to get to the assessment at the end and google any answers I don’t know. It’s efficient but I’ll admit that retention is minimal*.

Trainer dude went on, “You’ll also have the pre-meeting notes which will have acted as a refresher.”

Fox ache - I can now see a flaw in my strategy of deleting emails with dull subjects without reading them**

We started on the first case study and he picked his first “volunteer” who started giving his opinion on whether it was a breach of financial conduct.

“NO,” shouted trainer dude, “NOT NOW.”

Volunteer 1 was a bit shocked and went quiet. Trainer dude looked briefly to the side and bellowed.

“I SAID NO. GO AWAY. GET OUT. I TOLD YOU. I’M DOING A TRAINING COURSE. JUST GO”

He then looked right into the camera, laughed and completely calmly said “Anyone else have a 14 year old trying to write an English essay?”

It was comedy gold. If he had only known the number of messages that started flying about with the rolling about laughing emoji and suggestions that we pay the kid to make another appearance!

Best training course ever. And I bluffed my way through my question!

C

PS This is Murphy when the fridge door opens. He was sound asleep a millisecond before this picture was taken!

*unless its water retention but that’s a different story

**which aren’t clearly to do with a current piece of work. And yes - I genuinely do this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.