Solarized tube

An eventful day up in London with Bittersweet to visit the Man Ray exhibition. Although I thought it was rather expensive (but aren't all exhibitions these days?), we did see some nice photographs of his, especially the ones using the solarization technique. I looked this up on Wikipedia but frankly I didn't understand a word except that it is to do with negative and positive images. However, turns out that there is a solarization filter in Photoshop (even my old version of Elements) so I've tried it out on a photo I took in the underground.

I had a hard job choosing which picture to post today though - lots of suitable candidates, thanks to the perseverance of my companion. I was determined to find someone doing their job and ask them if I could take their photograph (for the photo course assignment). What I hadn't really taken into account was how wholeheartedly Bittersweet would attempt to help me achieve this goal - she was accosting people left, right and centre, asking if they were happy to have their photo taken! Well, it wasn't quite that bad, but we did make several new friends today, including Dr. G (aka Gershom Allen - motivational speaker).

I did manage to get one good shot though (and I even set that one up myself!) so I came home happy. I'm never going to feel all that comfortable asking strangers to take their photo though - I was certainly out of my comfort zone a lot today, but that has to be good to do once in a while.

Thanks, Bittersweet - in spite of it all, you can count on my company another time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.