Here we go again – Day 70

Today my human has been on a mission to wear me out. This morning she made me walk for two and a half hours and this afternoon she made me walk for two and a half hours. This afternoon I was off my lead for most of the walk so obviously instead of walking I did a lot of running. I am well and truly worn out now!

…..........And why does she want to wear me out?....................... well tomorrow she is getting her 'Covid vaccine'. Whoopee doo. Until yesterday she was very excited about this event. She was treating it like a day out, because lets face it, the only indoor places she's been since way before Christmas, is the supermarket and Susi's house (her support bubble). She'd planned what she was going to wear and it wasn't going to be dog walking clothes! she was even going to put on some nail varnish and mascara.

…...............And then....................... her sister, who had the vaccine on Saturday (and who is younger, thinner and fitter than Ann) reported that she had been really ill yesterday. She's OK now but Ann is paranoid that she is going to be so ill afterwards that she won't have the strength to get out of bed to even take me outside for toileting purposes. As we live in a fourth floor flat that could make life pretty difficult. We've got a couple of friends on standby to take me for my walks but not sure that they'd want to come round at 8am and 10pm which is when I have my first thing in the morning and last thing at night wee. (Surely Ann will be able to manage to take me downstairs and let me out for 5 mins but who knows??????) That's why Ann's taken me out for such a long time today. She's just really worried that over the next few days she'll be too ill to take me far and her friends will just give me little walks on my lead.

….............And also, Ann has just messaged her friend (who had the vaccine today & went to the centre where Ann is going tomorrow) to see which one she got and it was the 'Astra Zeneca'. Just watching the News and it would seem that, that's the one that a lot of other countries have withdrawn due to blood clotting?? Apparently it's still safe to use in the UK? So why are other countries withdrawing it? Ann doesn't feel like she has enough information about any of this her own fault because she just tends to trust the professionals and gave up reading all the Covid statistics months ago and yet all her friends are telling her that she should still go for it. Is that the correct thing to do? Who knows?

From being really excited that life could eventually be going back to normal..................... now my human is just feeling very worried, insecure and frustrated because she's got less than 24 hours to decide whether or not to go for the vaccine. And no, she's not going to spend all evening on the internet googling stuff.......................... She's just going to take me on another big long walk in the morning and trust her 'gut instinct' as to whether she will actually show up at the Vaccine centre tomorrow afternoon.

….............Watch this space!!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.