Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

FS No. 668

Today is the 20th Anniversary of the day I joined the Fire Service.

15th of March 2001, I joined Fife Fire and Rescue Service along with Steve Corson, Gary Kinninmonth, Craig Prattis and Mike Henderson.

After a brief introduction of a couple of days, it was off to Gullane for 16 weeks of basic training.

Afterwards I was posted to Rosyth Fire Station (If Carlsberg could do fire stations.....) and then with the joining of 2 stations, the new Dunfermline Station has been my residency since then.

I've met some great folk on the way, witnessed some sights that will never be forgotten and as I wise man once said, there have been...

Times of Weeping, Times of Laughter,
Times to Search, Times to Give up,
Time to be Silent and a Time to Speak.

I'll always be appreciative of those who encouraged me to join and those who have influenced, trained, challenged and journeyed with me over the years.

My Fire Service number when I first joined was 668 and today is my 668 Blip... I'll take that!

Here's to many more years in the Service and many more Blips too!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.