Moving Day

7am. Final practice in the flat. In amongst the boxes. Ferdy was one of the very last things to be packed. He was also one of the very first things to leave. At 815 he and the other individually movable instruments were safely relocated to Bs house for the duration of the day. 

820 Katie was relocated to Stephs house for the duration of the day as she had to continue with school and such 

821 the removal vans arrived 

822 B arrived. And stayed at my side the entire day. 

10am I went to the new house 

1015 the vans arrived and the chaos began. 

I don't remember there being meals that day. There were chocolate biscuits. I don't remember meals. 

At about 12pm the two dodgiest moments of the day occurred. The first was the sofa. Our lounge is on the first floor, with a dog leg at the front door and two corners after that. It only just worked. The second was the piano. B and I were banned from watching. The team had been at it for quite a while so we looked out. The back gate was off, the piano was half way in the yard and not in the music room. They were stood, hands on hips looking concerned. We were told to go away. It made it. Safely. I didn't ask how. I'll just pay them to do it in reverse should we leave! 

I've remembered the meal. B made me take a break early afternoon and took me to her house for homemade soup before the unpacking began. Terry came and helped with some jobs, including building my bed, B finished Katie's. 

By 6.45pm we'd done most of her room, most of the music room and lounge. Those were my priorities so Katie could arrive in her new home and feel good. Her first viewing of it last night had upset her because she could not vision it as hers. Tonight changed it and she was overjoyed. Her room is quite special. She arrived home at 7, just after B had gone. She immediately spent a blissful 45 minutes unpacking her friends who had been in storage for several weeks. 

It was a fairly late night but she tumbled into bed totally delighted. I'll give you a photo tour in a few days time...! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.