Back to the Reserve

Inauspicious start - locked car park. But plenty of other parking. A serious photographer had set up the kit pointing into the oak tree where the male Lesser Spotted Woodpecker likes to perch. The female prefers the smaller oak to the left. “he’s not around at the moment”, I was told. 

I was there for a walk so no problem. Apart from a few herons carrying bits for the nest, it was quiet. 

Plenty of rats by the feeders, and lots of tits. I looked up, and saw the more common greater spotted woodpecker nearby in the trees. (Extra).

I had a lovely wander, even though it was chilly and overcast. The birds quite appreciated the seed I’d brought. I could sit and watch.

I love this reserve. Long flat, only slightly muddy and slippery paths. Seats at strategic points. I’m usually tempted to walk a bit further and today was no exception. 

I only saw two couples and two other individuals. My kind of morning. I’d just have liked a spot of sunshine. Maybe later. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.