The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Initiation Rituals

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Dermott has now included me in his inner circle - the weekly lead developer group meetings. To prepare me for the initiation ceremony, he passed me the minutes for the previous meeting. I felt my soul being sucked out as I read them and every item was about dotting i’s or crossing t’s, or producing meaningless documents about dotting i’s and crossing t’s. I was fairly sure the meeting would be fairly dull and the reality wasn’t even that exciting.

So the main part of my job will now be checking stuff and (to rub extra salt in the wound) I have to attend meetings about EVERY work item in our flow. I also have to ensure everyone uses the new (and mainly pointless) QA process to make sure THINGS ARE NAMED CORRECTLY. In fairness, you wouldn’t want to incorrectly name a piece of code ARSEHOLE_USELESS instead of USELESS_ARSEHOLE.

And ‘senior’? When did that sh1t happen? Is it because I’m 48 now? I’m calling HR. Dermott is ageist!

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.