Looking up Law Lane

A fairly cloudy day, with the sun breaking through now and again.  Breezy early on, but calmer tonight.  

I've been working in the museum all day, and a fairly quiet day.  I had a lady bump into my car at lunchtime, no damage done or injuries, but she got a gluff (fright).  Met friend Julie for walkies with the dogs this evening, and now feet up by the fire. 

I headed into town for work errands this afternoon, and came down by Law Lane.  These are lovely old buildings, and been renovated to a high standard.  I used to live in the lane behind this house, and granny Lorna was shocked, as she always said the lanes of Lerwick were slums.  They certainly used to be slums here, but now are a popular area for everyone.  The upper house is number 8, and where my 4x great grandparents, Mitchell and Lilias Arthur were living in 1901.  This has been the family I've been researching lately.  Sadly they both passed away here, Mitchell on 3rd Feb 1907, and then Lilias a year later, 9th Feb 1908.  Number 8 is now one large house, but I'd think in their time, it would have been broken up into single rooms rented out.  Taken at Law Lane, Lerwick.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.