Woodland exercise

The car park at the Woodland Trust Reserve was nearly full this morning, even though it was only a little past 7.30. No sun. Overcast but not chilly.

When I say full, I don’t mean that it was wall to wall people. There’s lots of space. Even before various lockdowns it’s been a favourite haunt for dog walking locals. Occasionally, during the rutting season, they’ve had problems with the local deer, but generally it’s an ideal place, safe for dogs and I’ve never been worried there walking alone. 

The birds were making quite a noise and I tried to follow the drumming of a woodpecker. I think I found the tree but couldn’t see him. Again, I saw movement and that was the last of the sound for a while. I’m not having much luck with those at present. 

The squirrels were having huge fun chasing. They were hard to see in the woods as they gathered speed. 

You meet lovely people and dogs around here. I met a lovely lady walking with elbow crutches. “That brings back memories,” I said to her. We sang the praises of this lovely spot, nice and flat, for recovery after operations. I remember doing the same thing after both of my hip replacements. 

My bench has arrived and I’m pleased with it. Forgive me if I wait until the magnolia blooms to show you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.