Castlesteads

I’ve been waiting for this time off to have the time I knew I would need to attend to a few things that I wouldn’t be able to do during work time.
One thing I had in mind was making new friends and I knew I would need the space to be able to devote myself to the task.
This morning l found all the paperwork I needed and phoned the lovely people at HRMC. I knew it would be fun. There were some lovely sounding people, one kindly thanked me for my call and introduced me to some lovely music, another told me that I was important and tried a new tune out on me, then another said how jolly busy they have been, poor things I thought, fear not though, she said, in a terribly calm voice (which, if I’m honest I found just a teeny weeny bit irritating), they would be sure to attend to me, very shortly, really they would. Eventually another very sweet person suggested I might like to go online instead because there is so much opportunity for fun and friendship there. After quite a while, yes, quite a while indeed, I thought I’d do some exercises whilst I was waiting ... you know the ones ... yes, that’s right, exercises in futility... those are the ones, I don’t think Joe Wickes has got on to them yet but he’s really missing out on a treat ... hours of fun. I got my very own password and in I went to join the party online. I thought I’d stay on the phone at the same time just for the sheer unadulterated fun of it ... party animal that I am. Needless to say, those exercises in futility are amazing... they’ve really nailed it. Yes, I did so well, I got absolutely nowhere. I was delighted and rounded off with a flourishing feedback form before abandoning hope and doing a bit of shopping followed by a cycle ride and the finishing touch ... the Lowthers have declared the Iron Age fortifications at Castlesteads as private. Splendid.
Still, I came home with a pocket full of wild garlic from their woods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.