ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway

Or - more accurately - the lambs gambol about on the Dales Way! With rain in the air, we just wanted a short walk today. And we wanted to try somewhere we hadn’t been for ages (or at all, in my case!) so opted for a short section of the Dales Way between Burneside and Bowston. Quite interesting to see the contrast between industry (Croppers paper mill) and the countryside - the paper mill sits alongside the river and even has its own feed via a weir, yet only a few hundred yards further upstream it’s open fields full of sheep and lambs. And that’s the beauty of living where we do.
Earlier today I’d been out for a run before breakfast, to commemorate the fact it is a year to the day since I first completed a run outside. Previously, I’d only ever done 2 or 3 kilometres on a treadmill in the gym so it was a bit of a shock to the system to be running on roads that went up and down and had corners to negotiate! I only managed 2K and was absolutely gone at the end of it. This morning, I just trotted along, enjoying the scenery until I’d covered 5K and then I enjoyed a further 2K walk to get home in time for a well earned sausage and egg sandwich.
It’s only now we’ve reached this anniversary that I realise how much fitter I am now, than I was a year ago. And even when the gyms do eventually reopen, I will continue to run on the roads and paths because it’s an activity I’ve really come to enjoy. And there’s still the small matter of the 10K race my sister has entered me into later this year to deal with!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.