Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Weak sunshine

Well, we really missed out weather-wise today! While most of England and Wales basked in record breaking warm sunshine, the whole of Scotland was blanketed in cloud, with heavy rain on the west coast. Not fair! Mind you, when I see the photos of the crowds in parks and on beaches (with the litter aftermath) I’m not too displeased. 

It was warmish enough for us to sit out in the front garden. A friend we haven’t seen for ages popped over, so that was very exciting. Also, when Robert came back with Archie we sat out even longer. With muffins. The sheets were hung out for the first time too, so I can’t really complain (but I will).

I went for a six week follow up blood test, so that was my exercise. (2,041 steps, hardly worth mentioning). JR had her Gym Bunnies, and then an afternoon pilates session, with a visit to the supermarket in between.

Our First Minister has made a big announcement: No longer must we Stay Home, but now we must Stay Local. WHIT?? According to me, and everyone else out and about all day every day, it hasn’t been Stay Home since the first lockdown, when we dutifully went out for a brief walk once a day and back home. I was even told to move on by a police officer when I sat on a bench in the Meadows. We’ve been Staying Local for months and months and months! Still, JR is delighted - the hairdressers open soon, and she’s booked a haircut in couple of weeks.

The first big political TV debate tonight in Scotland. Could be quite interesting...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.