ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades

Had a phone call yesterday to say my new glasses were ready for collection, so picked them up when we were in town today, doing the weekly shop.
And now comes the bit I hate - the constant fiddling required to get them as comfortable as the old pairs. A combination of me getting used to them and numerous trips to the optician to have the arms and nose pieces tweaked. I’ve already been back twice today and though they’re better, they’re nowhere near right yet.
The “normal” ones aren’t far off to be fair, though the slight headache I now have would tend to suggest they’re still a bit tight! The sunglasses in the photo are quite a way off being right. They seem a bit loose and the areas of the varifocal lenses don’t seem to be lining up correctly so I’m getting blurred peripheral vision. If I lift them slightly, all becomes clear so I’m sure it’s just a bit more tweaking that is required.
But, damn, they do look good - especially when one is in full posing mode, cruising around in the sunshine with the roof down!
I’ll be back to the opticians tomorrow for a bit more tweaking. They are always very patient and polite, assuring me that these adjustments are all part of the service - though I do sometimes think they might be speaking through gritted teeth when I turn up for the tenth time. Luckily, they are wearing masks so it isn’t obvious if they do. And I’ll know if I’ve been in too often if I get an invite to the staff Xmas party!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.