Journies at home

By journiesathome

Queen of kitsch

I believe, despite the odds, that dreich days can end in sunbursts.  
This one was pushing me a little, refusing to do one thing or another.  
There was drizzle in the air as Mu, Bernie Sanders and I tramped our hills this morning.  Then there was the marital deceit that comes from responding to a Facebook page offering a free, battered leather sofa which I'd pitched for behind Nico's back. 
I got Emma on the case because she's got guts, good craic and taste and I also just wanted to spend some time with her. 
By the time we got to Aigues vives the sun was out. I managed to do a u-turn in the yard without damaging the trailer or the car.  
The almond trees and the mountains were white and between them everything else was blue and green.  
Emma was overdressed in an enormous multipocketed coat that contained her fags, dog treats, sticks, paracetamol, antidepressants, the works... She rattled around while we waited for J to come out and deliver the sofa.  
The sofa had spent its days in the café in Léran.  It must have seen some things because it was splitting at the seams and I loved it for that and we hoiked it up into the trailer and took it home, where we made it look respectable by covering up its smirks with a tablecloth and then celebrated with a couple of gins in the garden. 
The domino effect of its arrival was that I had to find a place for the faux-cuir sofa that Lisa had given us a way back.  Given that I love Lisa and the removal of the sofa  from her house had involved a couple of my pupils dropping it out of her first floor window and breaking her bench on the pavement below, I felt it had to go into a dignified retirement.
Gin and holiday high, I raked out the leaves in the old lean-to, made an impossibly heavy iron radiator into a fence and moved lisa's sofa into place. I sat down proudly on it and finished my gin while the sun went down.
At home I uploaded this picture and realised it looked like a homeless shelter under Waterloo Bridge. 
The morning's dreichness came back and then the cat walked across Nico's keyboard and Crowded House came on with Something so strong and everything was alright again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.