Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

PHEW!

We were all busy this morning - Archie went out with Robert  - and they did have a few wee snow flurries! JR did her Gym Bunnies, and I popped to the doctor about my breathlessness - going for an X-Ray tomorrow.

And yes, I made very good use of the NHS today, not only a doctor’s appointment in the morning, but my long dreaded steroid jag into my thumb in the afternoon. 

I had fair worked myself up into a frenzy about this jag, mainly caused by a phone call from a surgeon who emphasised the dangers (Covid, infection, pain for about 10 days, no local anaesthetic, delicate manoeuvre following a live xray, if it works it would need to be repeated every few months, but it might not work anyway). Even in the waiting room, one woman, who had had both thumbs done several times, said that the first one was OK, because she didn’t know what to expect. But now she does. Great...

However, my surgeon gave me a local anaesthetic (some don’t) - and IT was sore - but the actual injection was painless, and only took minutes. In fact, when he started shuffling around I exclaimed, ‘Are you finished?’ Phew!

We drove through to the hospital, forty minutes by car, and got a nice car park in the sunshine, where JR sat and listened to a podcast. It was quite exciting to be out and about, but we were astonished at the amount of traffic!

Archie went down to stay with Christine. No Rufus. She’s looking more cheerful and feeling a bit better, and has been out and about. 

Photo by Christine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.