'Seraphina'

Kathy and I went to Cloverdale this morning to pick up the quilt I made for her daughter and son-in-law from the quilter. She lives and works in a wonderful authentic Victorian house just off the main street. There was a little cat house on the porch with a kitty in it who watched us with interest as we went to the door. Inside were three crazy dogs, two of which belonged to her neighbor. It was a bit of a mad greeting but they soon went outside, and we were free to look at some of her own works in progress.

John and I used to drive through Cloverdale, about an hour north of Santa Rosa at the head of the Alexander Valley,  on the way to visit John's grandmother in Ukiah. The highway that used to pass through the center of town has now become a freeway which bypasses the town altogether, leaving it with a sleepy small town character and some interesting shops. Needless to say we browsed through the fabric store called 'Bolt' where I bought quite a few pieces of fabric for my quilt stash and we sat in the sun at the coffee place next door for a coffee and a pastry.  Even though John and I see her once a week, it's not often that Kathy and I  have a chance for some girl  (I use the term loosely) talk. It was very pleasant.

There is a sculpture trail through the center of town. My picture today is of a work called 'Seraphina' by Peter and Robyn Crompton, which I found both lovely and disturbing. A browse through Google yielded the fact that  the name Seraphina derives from the Hebrew word 'seraphim' meaning 'fiery' or 'burning ones'. The highest ranking angels, the seraphim are known for having six wings and are often depicted on fire or  as  'purifying angels'.  That strikes me as going about things rather backward, but it does explain quite a bit about the sculpture.

Art as food for thought...always a good thing in my book....

Back at the homestead I found 'ratman' from the Western Exterminator Company explaining to John where the many holes into the attic and the crawl space were and how they had admitted a host of rats. UGH. A plan has been drawn up for getting rid of them and will soon be executed. They seem to have re-established themselves since the fire but we're uncertain as to whether those two things are related..
 
As I keep saying...never a dull moment....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.