blossoming

Today was a little damp and windy, but everything is still looking beautiful. This blossom is on the old Prunus tree under which I bivvied at the end of March. The horse chestnut and sycamore leaves are coming out quite quickly now, and the spring greening has begun. I'm still holding off planting seeds, though, as we are getting frosts at night.

This morning I started a new knitting project for Stitches for Survival, which aims to use craftivism  to raise awareness of climate issues ahead of COP26 in November. Participants are asked to make a 60 x 100 cm rectangle (using knitting, crochet or other crafts) and these will be joined together to make a piece 1.5 miles long (to represent the 1.5 degrees in the Paris Agreement). Afterwards, the piece will be re-purposed as blankets for refugees.

I had FaceTime with my family this afternoon. My brother is going to become a grandad next month (he prefers to be called Mr G as it sounds younger and cooler) and we have all placed bets on the arrival date, weight and length of the baby on a site called Baby Bookie (!) We already know its sex (male). So much is different from when I was first expecting 30 years ago..

Today's Walks: Stepford Round 3.58 miles, over the fields to Boreland 2.45 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.