Prince Philip 1921 - 2021

The radio died mid sentence this morning. It sometimes does when the DAB signal drops out. But not this time; it was the classic “ we interrupt this broadcast” ... to announce the death of The Duke of Edinburgh at the age of 99. “This is London” having been superceded by “This is BBC News”

I met the Duke when he presented me with my D of E Gold Award at Buckingham Palace. It was a memorable occasion in so many ways. I learnt life skills in that programme that have stood me in good stead ever since!

It was cold but sunny this afternoon as we walked with friends on the beach.

I liked the sense of a shadow falling over the beach and the ceaseless surf, in my blip, as an appropriate image with which to pay my respects to The Duke of Edinburgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.