Legacy

By Legacy

Lichen

Well, who knew this stuff was so beautiful.

There's a bush in my landlord's front yard that I particularly like because it's some form of willow and in the spring it sprouts the dearest little catkins. I noticed this evening that they're starting to appear so I thought perhaps I'd blip some of them. The pictures I got of the catkins were out of focus but lo and behold, I got a fair picture of lichen growing on the branches, and not just one variety -- at least three, maybe four, and it is soooooo beautiful!

I did a little research and discovered that there are more varieties of lichen than I could probably count -- a whole new world of beauty that will bear investigating. Any lichen lovers out there who would care to point me in the right direction?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.