North County Farm Scene

I took this picture on my way home from the vet with Snuffy. The standing water in the fields is a pretty good clue as to the amount of rain we’ve had in the last couple days. Down the road about a half mile, it looked like a small lake had appeared out of nowhere. Anyway, Snuffy spent two nights in the hospital which, added to a week full of mishaps and events, some expected and some unexpected, will mean I’ll be back-blipping for a week or so. I’ve managed to take pictures every day but that’s about it.

Okay, back to Snuffy. He stopped eating and just didn’t look good or act quite right, although he didn’t seem really sick. There’s something about the way an animal acts when they don’t feel well that you can’t put your finger on, but you know something isn’t right. After two days of that I was just too worried about him to think about much else. I had about an hour and a half to get home from work, get him in the carrier and drive 20+ miles to the vet. Of course, he went under the bed, so I moved the bed which didn’t help my ailing back any, but I got him and made it to the vet before they closed.

As it turned out, his blood work showed some inflammation and he’s now on an antibiotic and some pain meds. The vet thought there might be a small issue with his pancreas, but nothing substantial. I hope it’s not a bad sign. Once I got him home he was just like his old self and is back on his heated pad by the window. He doesn’t know that I have to squirt some medicine down his throat yet tonight and I’m not going to tell him.

Hopefully I’ll be back on blip track now, and I’ll have all my back blips posted this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.