Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Russello

This morning I was talking with a man who owns an elderly Audi, which I had confused for a Mk3 BMW. Having explained all about Blip I was just about to ask him if he would let me take his photograph when Russello left his house and headed for the green Morris Oxford you can see in the extra. 

A rapid “Excuse me!” and discussion ensued. Russello was happy to allow me to go to work and I am so glad I did. He has character in abundance and we discussed headwear, I have been sporting my Borselino Fedora. Quite the mover and shaker. Many men forego the pleasure of wearing hats, quality clothing, good shoes as they think they will ‘stick out,’ well they may, but that’s a good thing. Be different. We are constantly recommended to embrace change, diversity and people. I am often compared to a country squire. Not bad for a little Irish chap who fell off the boat in Holyhead. 

Russello is part of a three piece band. He asked if I would be interested in doing some photography with them. Of course, I will try anything once. Where will this lead, who knows, but your bottom dollar says it will be interesting.

When Russello started the Morris and moved away I was convinced the engine had failed. Instead it seems it is cherished and runs like a veritable Singer sewing machine. Somebody has magic skills. I was then left with my original gentleman, and quickly a couple, out on their bikes stopped to chat. It seems that Russello and he had lived beside each other for some time but had barely spoken at any length. This photography malarky is putting folk in touch with each other, it seems you just need an extrovert Grandpa to start the conversation. 

In other news, which I believe is now ‘IoN’ the corner cafe has reopened, it was chokka with caffeine junkies. Good news, which may be known as ‘GN’ in the future. 

Update; I received the following from Russ. If you are hesitant about approaching subjects then please bear this in mind. 
Hi Robert,


It was very nice to meet you today.
Your manners and presentation were an absolute tonic. Congratulations.
You appear to have caught me in a particularly truculent mood this morning, many apologies and well done for your cheerful persuasion.
Your photography skills have made me look reasonably presentable and some might say, almost handsome. That’s quite a talent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.