BIG DAY

This morning I did something I haven't done since about October last year. I rode my bike into the office. It was cold and my extremities nearly froze off but it was glorious. As I rode through town I noticed a little brown bag attached to the door of each shop. One of our local independent cafes had baked cake to welcome shop owners back. I think this sums up the wonderful spirit of Shrewsbury.

I was about 100% more productive being in the office and even managed occasional conversation with Ellie which didn't interrupt our work. I popped out to buy a calendar for the wall (bonus of returning to the office in April: wall charts are heavily discounted!), dived quickly into our local independent bookseller (because I had a voucher, not because I need any new books. Thanks musicalblips) and stopped to buy a coffee from the aforementioned lovely cafe. Town was bustling. Joyous. 

My work day ended with a FaceTime with my spiritual director. We've been having these conversations, on and off, for about 8 years now and each time one, or invariably, both of us end up with tears in our eyes. It's nice to not be the only one for a change. I really value his input into my life and it rounded off a lovely first day at the office.

A sunny bike ride home, dodging all the groups of people finally catching up with one another. Home feels like home again. Just lovely.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.