Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Keep to the sunny side!

Not a cloud in the sky again. Terrific weather, just needs to be a wee bit warmer, though a gilet sufficed, as long as you kept to the sunny side of the street.

I had a midday X-ray appointment, but as we sat outside in the sunshine, I suggested that JR and Archie come with me and then they could be home in time for JR’s next session.

Actually, I had in mind popping in to Mary’s Milk Bar, which I knew was open again after lockdown, because Christine’s nephew told me yesterday, and he’d already been. We walked down the Vennel Steps, stopping for the obligatory castle photo, spot the flag at half mast for Prince Philip.

And no, Mary’s Milk Bar was NOT open on Mondays. Or Tuesdays. Or Wednesdays. Maybe just as well, because - even for me - it was a tad cold for ice cream...

Back round for a coffee instead, and the others walked on home while I sat in the sun for a while. I had a dander round Quartermile, and passed a Chinese supermarket. I spotted a box of ‘mochis’ and went in to ask about them. They’re not ‘Little Moons’ filled with ice cream and need to be in the freezer, but I really couldn’t understand what they were filled with, partly because the young woman was wearing a mask. But I nodded anyway and bought a wee packet of green treats, which are like a very very chewy fat caterpillar. Yummy!

I was in and out of the X-ray department in about 5 minutes, and I did my good deed by picking up a few big bits of glass on the way over the Meadows. 

Scenes of great excitement today in England and Wales as the shops, pubs and gyms have opened again. Not so here yet, and I won’t be rushing in anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.