First time

First time out of Edinburgh for months. First time too I can recall climbing Berwick Law. As a child we’d holiday at North Berwick but I have no recollection of climbing the Law. It is such a well known view. All the times I visited my mother at North Berwick there never seemed to be the time.

So today with the good forecast our son and I with the dog headed off. At 9 am there were only 3 cars in the car park. When we came back down 90 minutes later the car park was almost full.

It was a beautiful morning with only a slight haze in the distance. Zephyr like winds. And the local horses obliged by standing still in the sun overlooking the town.

More classic views in the extras. Apparently there is evidence of a whalebone on the summit from 1709. The current fibre glass replacement went up in 2008. The old telegraph building was erected in the 19th century during the Napoleonic wars.

A good first day out and about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.