The Irwell

We were up early enough to pop our coffees into travel mugs and take a walk before work, ambling down the Crescent and back across the Meadow, which is where I took this shot of the Irwell, looking across to Peel Park. It has a very seventies look to it. Maybe it's the building, or perhaps the slightly washed out quality. Either way, it was lovely.

I worked in the morning and then walked down to the School of Electronic Music for today's lesson, where we took a collaboration by a couple of my classmates and looked at how to mix it. Honestly, it was really, really good. Not quite the thing I'd normally listen to but that didn't stop me appreciating it (and becoming slightly more nervous about my own efforts!).

It was just about warm enough for a post-class drink at the New Oxford. The Minx and I visited last night, too, after I'd been to the studio, and it was a bit too chilly, but this evening was better, so Yoss (the tutor) and I queued for 10 minutes or so to get a table and then had to wait about half an hour to get served, by which time the Minx had joined us. (The staff was doing its best but it wasn't big enough.)

Anyway, we had a very pleasant hour or so until it started to get a bit too chilly but such a simple thing as sitting outside a pub with a couple of friends was really quite a lift.

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.