Christ Church, Salford

I had my regular Thursday morning coffee with Izzy before work, which always gives me a chance to get in a good walk at the start of the day. It was particularly lovely today, as you can see from my photo of Middlewood Locks.

I popped out again later in the day to walk 'round to Acton Square, where there is an office that we've been thinking about leasing from the council. (The rent is fine, my concern is that it's just way bigger than we need.)

Opposite Acton Square, to the south, is a car park that isn't currently in use, which was built on the land where a church once stood. A couple of weeks ago, we had a letter saying that there would be an archaeological dig there prior to development, and as I was chatting to the chap from the council, he pointed out the guy leading the dig.

Well, obvs I went over to say hi and, happily, he offered to show me around the site (with the unfortunate proviso that I didn't take any photos). Now, if there's one thing I love, it's an enthusiast, so I had a delightful time as he guided me around the church's foundations and even showed me a section of the wall of the old canal trench, all the while talking me through the relatively brief history of the church. What an unexpected treat!

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.